SiA#3: Marjolaine Savoie, Yoga With Bow | UnderstandBetter

Marjolaine Savoie, founded Yoga With Bow to guide young entrepreneurs and changemakers on their path to mindfulness and change their life for the better. She envisions a world where entrepreneurs and people are intentional in their actions and mindful about their effect on the planet and on others. She is based out of Germany and runs her retreat in Greece with plans to expand in the future. As always, we think She is Awesome.

Tell us more about yourself. How did you get started? And what was the motivation behind Yoga With Bow?

Though I graduated with a bachelors in Psychology, I decided that I wasn’t going to take the traditional path of doing a masters and head towards an office job. I kind of wanted to find my own way.

When I moved to Germany with my boyfriend, whom I had met during my exchange year, I explored different avenues and looked especially at creative writing and communication jobs. However, I didn’t have the required level in German and ended up finding a French position in sales while I was pursuing a music career. The 9-5 on the phone doing repetitive tasks just didn’t feel right so the transition from there towards the idea of being my own boss and doing my own business started right after I ended that first job in a startup.

I have always been drawn towards yoga and helping people and the business actually started as a Skype yoga business where I wanted to just offer yoga to everyone around the world. I had a small coaching offer and unexpectedly got coaching clients for this instead of yoga and I transitioned my business into this mindfulness and healing business space ever since.

Why yoga in specific? Why not any other art form?